As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases from amazon.com

Tips on how to Watch Astronauts Improve the ISS Energy System


As a part of ongoing upgrades to the Worldwide Area Station’s energy system, two astronauts will take a stroll outdoors the station this week. On Tuesday, August 24, you’ll be able to watch alongside from dwelling as they carry out a spacewalk to put in {hardware} in preparation for a brand new photo voltaic array which can quickly be put in.

What to anticipate from the spacewalk

The International Space Station’s solar arrays.
The Worldwide Area Station’s photo voltaic arrays present energy for the orbiting laboratory. NASA will set up a complete of six new roll-out photo voltaic arrays in entrance of the prevailing arrays at 1A, 2B, 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B to enhance the facility. In the course of the Aug. 24 spacewalk, NASA astronaut Mark Vande Hei and astronaut Akihiko Hoshide of the Japan Aerospace Exploration Company will set up the modification equipment on the 4A energy channel, the place the subsequent new roll out photo voltaic array shall be put in in 2022. NASA

NASA astronaut Mark Vande Hei and Japanese area company JAXA astronaut Akihiko Hoshide shall be performing the spacewalk. They’ll be working to arrange energy channel 4A, proven within the diagram above, by putting in a assist bracket for the brand new photo voltaic array often called an Worldwide Area Station Roll-Out Photo voltaic Arrays (iROSA).

Two of those arrays have already been put in, and this set up would be the third of six. The array in query gives energy to a number of components of the station, together with the U.S. Laboratory, the Concord module, and the Columbus module.

The present photo voltaic arrays had been initially designed to final for 15 years, however some have been working for greater than 20 years. Though the arrays are nonetheless practical, over time their effectivity is diminished. Between that and developments in photo voltaic array know-how, the brand new arrays will present extra energy than the outdated arrays, though they’re smaller.

Tips on how to watch the spacewalk

The spacewalk shall be proven stay on NASA TV. You’ll be able to watch both utilizing the video embedded on the high of this web page or by heading to the NASA web site.

Protection of the spacewalk begins at 7 a.m. ET (4 a.m. PT) on Tuesday, August 24. The spacewalk itself is scheduled to start at 8:30 a.m. ET (5:30 a.m. PT). It’s anticipated to last as long as seven hours.

When you’re actually eager to study extra, NASA can even be holding a briefing on the day earlier than with extra details about the spacewalk. To observe the briefing, you’ll be able to tune in to NASA TV on Monday, August 23 at 2 p.m. ET (11 a.m. PT).

Editors’ Suggestions






We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Moms Love To Shop
Logo
Enable registration in settings - general
Compare items
  • Total (0)
Compare
0
Shopping cart